Nana Ekua Brew-Hammond

Nana Ekua Brew-Hammond is a style & culture writer that has been featured on MSNBC, and published in EBONY Magazine, The Village Voice, on NBC’s thegrio.com, and MadameNoire.com, among other outlets. She has been photographed and/or featured in a range of magazines, newspapers and blogs including the New York Times style section, Glamour Magazine, Paper Magazine, and the highly popular fashion street style blog The Sartorialist. Her poetry has been published by Nike and in the Growing Up Girl and This Woman’s Work anthologies. The Webby Award-winning copywriter has also worked with clients such as Victoria’s Secret, L’Oreal Paris USA and Avaya. Her literary work has been featured in the journal African Writing.

Also a novelist, Brew-Hammond’s first book Powder Necklace (Washington Square Press 2010) is a YA tome loosely inspired by her experience attending a girls’ boarding school in the Central Region of Ghana, West Africa. Publishers Weekly called the book “a winning debut” while Library Journal recommended it “for readers who enjoyed Edwidge Danticat’s Breath, Eyes, Memory or Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie’s Purple Hibiscus“. In July 2010, Powder Necklace pierced Amazon’s Top 100. In 2012, she was one of nine writers selected to receive a 2012 BID International Fellowship to write and exchange with Brazilian writers in Salvador da Bahia, Brazil. Most recently, she founded the writers’ blog People Who Write. Keep up with her on twitter @nanaekua.

Comments

Comments are closed.